Resolutions for 2015

I am a big one for new years’ resolutions. Every year, I make up a list of things I want to accomplish in the year; nearly all of them are habits I want to establish. To ensure that I’ll succeed in some of the things I resolve, I put some items on the list that are already habits, already goals that I know I’ll meet: running 1000 miles (18 miles a week), lifting weights 2-3 times a week. The other goals are generally doable–I don’t want to scare myself off–yet some of these have been on my list for years and I can’t quite make them habits as I have running and lifting. I have decided one of the reasons this is so is because I don’t have the goals always in front of me. Sometime around June, I happen upon my list and think, “Oh, yes, I remember now that I wanted to do that thing.” So this year, I’ve made multiple copies of my resolutions and plan to post them about, with one tucked into my Moleskine so I see it daily. Here’s this year’s list: keep me accountable!
1. water bottle daily
2. Vitamins and calcium daily (stave off the family history of osteoporosis)
3. Stretching and foam roller work before workouts (getting old and creaky!)
4. Writing daily (even if it’s drivel, just to keep my priorities straight)
5. Blogging two times a week (yet more writing)
6. Bible and prayer time daily (my relationship with Christ above all else)

And, as extra help for you and for me, here are some ideas that Fitness Magazine (5-12) suggests will help us accomplish our goals more readily:
1. Be realistic in what you can do
2. Pick something YOU really want
3. Don’t just “do your best”–have a specific goal
4. Write your goals
5. Expect highs and lows
6. Break goals down into doable chunks
7. Surround yourself with people who are also goal oriented
8. Reward yourself
9. Plan times to get work done

Here’s to a more productive, healthier, and more spiritually on track 2015

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Resolutions for 2015

  1. I found that Fitness article helpful, too. I have a private Pinterest board that works as a virtual, visual motivation board for my goals. I was reviewing my 2014 board and saw a couple goals on there that I had completely forgotten or sidelined… “Travel to Chichen Itza”? Don’t remember that one at all! Haha! So yes on the importance of keeping your goals close at hand throughout the year.

  2. colleenannettewarren says:

    Sure that isn’t “Chicken Itch”? šŸ™‚ Where or what is Chichen Itza?!! My theory is that if you’ve never heard of it, you may not be missing much šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

